NO HIV STIGMA

EACS 2019
Switzerland, Basel
Awareness campaign 6 - 9 November 2019
Demo and march 8 November 2019
More

Background

Science has demonstrated a clear link between viral load and HIV transmission risk. In 2008 Swiss scientists published the so-called Swiss Statement. According to that statement a person with HIV cannot transmit the virus to others if their viral load is consistently below the detection limit, thanks to successful therapy. Since then, more detailed and multi-center studies have been carried out. They also clearly demonstrate that HIV is not sexually transmissible when the viral load of a person with HIV is below the then detection limit.

Thus, the consequence of HIV infection has changed from the fatal AIDS disease to a chronic manageable infection. Like many other infections, it can be effectively treated. Thus, those affected can lead a normal life. With HIV one can form relationships, have healthy babies, run a marathon, have dizzying careers, grow old and retire - almost as if they one did not have HIV. However, the general population is unaware that people cannot become infected through sex with a person with HIV who is successfully on therapy.

While science has made great strides, discrimination against people with HIV has remained. Fear and prejudice against people living with HIV are deeply rooted in people, without good reason. However, some people with HIV also stigmatize themselves. Many cannot live with their HIV infection because of public pressure.

In everyday life in Switzerland, stigma and discrimination exist at all levels. People with HIV are thus confronted in private, at work and, unfortunately, again and again in medical facilities. We see a huge lack of knowledge among the population and a lack of education about how HIV is and isn’t transmitted.

This year, Switzerland is hosting the European AIDS Conference - EACS 2019. The conference will take place from 6 to 9 November 2019 in Basel. More than 3,000 participants from all over the world are expected. We as a community want to seize the opportunity of the European Conference and carry out a broad public campaign on HIV/AIDS in Basel - with implications for the whole of Switzerland and Europe.

Goal

HIV destigmatization through awareness
Events
“Think Positive” party
07.11.2019 at 22:30

«Think Positive» party

Together with the Bar Rouge, we present the "Think Positive" party over the rooftops of Basel. Everyone is invited, regardless of their cultural background or sexual orientation, their age or gender. At this party, activists and human rights activists working for the rights of HIV-positive people and transgender people, doctors, researchers, sex workers, gays, heterosexuals, Bi, Baselers, guests from home and abroad, etc., meet with one message:
We celebrate life!
"No matter what your diagnosis, it's important to live life to the fullest."
Special Guest:
Priscilla, Queen of Mykonos, Jackie O 'Beach Club
Find out more
Demo and march “NOHIVSTIGMA”
08.11.2019 from 16:00 to 18:00

Demonstration and march «NO HIV STIGMA»

Together we stand opposing stigma and discrimination against people living with HIV. The motto is #NOHIVSTIGMA. It is not only for people with HIV, but all those who feel affected or in solidarity, such as LGBTI+, sex workers, migrants.
If you are an activist in particular, we need to see you at the demo.
Show your solidarity.
Support the anti-HIV stigma demo and let's say NO STIGMA together!
Find out more
Drag Roy-lälle-ty
08.11.2019 at 21:00

Drag Roy-lälle-ty

Parterre One and Odette Hella Grand are organizing the next annual drag queen contest - "Drag Roy-lälle-ty". This time they support NO STIGMA. Invited guests perform comedic sketches and contest participants can answer questions about HIV.
Let's laugh together to beat HIV stigma and experience a bit of "NO STIGMA world".
Everyone is invited.
Bring friends and together make a mark against discrimination!
Find out more
Milk Party Heaven
09.11.2019 from 23:00 to 07:00

MILK - AFTERPARTY NO HIV STIGMA

They are young, wild and sexy. This night belongs to Generation Z - our newest night owls and party padawans. The Heaven opens its doors for those who are over 16 and want to spend a night together in the party sky. The Heaven Club is proud to support the NO HIV STIGMA Initiative during the European AIDS Conference in Switzerland.
No matter what your diagnosis is, it's important to live life to the fullest.
The MILK party is open, tolerant and welcomes all bodies & genders.
Be positive! Think positive! Dance positive!
Find out more

Media

Press release
Lenzburg/CH,

#NoHIVstigma campaign & events launched at European AIDS Congress (EACS) by community organisation Life4me+

PDF
Find out more

NO HIV STIGMA

EACS 2019
Basel, Schweiz
Aufklärungskampagne 6.-9. November 2019
Demo und Marsch 8. November 2019
Mehr erfahren

Ausgangslage

Die Wissenschaft weiß: es gibt bei HIV einen klaren Zusammenhang zwischen der Viruslast und dem Risiko einer Virus-Übertragung. Schweizer Wissenschaftler veröffentlichten schon 2008 die so genannte die EKAF-Erklärung. Nach der kann ein Mensch mit HIV diese Viren nicht übertragen, wenn die Viruslast dank einer erfolgreichen Therapie konsequent unter der Nachweisgrenze liegt. Seitdem wurden weitere detaillierte und multizentrischere Studien durchgeführt. Auch sie zeigen eindeutig, dass HIV nicht sexuell übertragbar ist, wenn die Viruslast eines Menschen mit HIV unter der Nachweisgrenze liegt.

So hat sich die HIV-Infektion von der tödlichen Aids-Erkrankung zu einer chronischen Infektion entwickelt. Wie viele andere Infektionen kann sie effektiv behandelt werden. Und die Betroffenen können ein Leben weitgehend unabhängig von der Infektion führen. Es ist inzwischen klar dokumentiert, dass man auch mit HIV eine Familie gründen und Kinder haben kann, Marathon laufen, schwindelerregende Karrieren machen, alt werden und in Rente gehen kann – fast wie ohne HIV. Doch der Allgemeinbevölkerung ist nicht bewusst, dass sich Menschen bei einer Person mit HIV, die sich erfolgreich in Therapie befindet, sexuell nicht infizieren können.

Während die Wissenschaft große Fortschritte gemacht hat, ist die Diskriminierung von Menschen mit HIV geblieben. Angst und Vorurteile gegenüber Menschen mit HIV sitzen tief in den Menschen, obwohl hierfür niemals Gründe vorlagen. Dennoch stigmatisieren manche Menschen mit HIV sich auch selbst. Viele können aufgrund des öffentlichen Drucks mit ihrer HIV-Infektion nicht so leben wie andere Menschen.

Im Schweizer Alltag existieren Stigmatisierung und Diskriminierung auf allen Ebenen. Menschen mit HIV werden damit im Privaten, am Arbeitsplatz und leider auch immer wieder in medizinischen Einrichtungen konfrontiert. Wir sehen einen enormen Mangel an Wissen bei der Bevölkerung und fehlende Aufklärung in Bezug auf die HIV-Infektion.

In diesem Jahr ist die Schweiz Gastgeberin der Europäischen AIDS-Konferenz - EACS 2019. Die Konferenz findet vom 6. bis 9. November 2019 in Basel statt. Es werden mehr als 3.000 Teilnehmer aus aller Welt erwartet. Wir als Community wollen die Gelegenheit der Europäischen Konferenz nutzen und in Basel eine breit angelegte öffentliche Kampagne zu HIV/Aids durchführen – mit Auswirkungen auf die ganze Schweiz und Europa.

Ziel

HIV-Destigmatisierung durch Aufklärung
Events
“Think Positive” party
07.11.2019 um 22:30

«Think Positive» Party

Zusammen mit der Bar Rouge richten wir die «Think Positive»-Party über den Dächern von Basel aus. Eingeladen sind alle, unabhängig von ihrer kulturellen Herkunft oder sexuellen Orientierung, ihrem Alter oder Geschlecht. Bei dieser Party treffen sich AktivistInnen und MenschenrechtlerInnen, die sich für die Rechte HIV-positiver Menschen und Transgender einsetzen, MedizinerInnen, ForscherInnen, SexarbeiterInnen, Gays, Heteros, Bi, BaslerInnen, Gäste aus dem In- und Ausland u.v.m., für eine Message:
Wir feiern das Leben!
„Egal wie Ihre Diagnose lautet, es ist wichtig, das Leben in vollen Zügen zu leben.
Special Guest:
Priscilla, Queen of Mykonos, Jackie O' Beach Club
Mehr erfahren
Demo und Marsch “NOHIVSTIGMA”
08.11.2019 von 16:00 bis 18:00

Demonstration «NO HIV STIGMA»

Zusammen setzen wir ein Zeichen gegen Stigma und Diskriminierung von Menschen, die mit HIV leben. Das Motto ist #NOHIVSTIGMA. Es umfasst nicht nur Menschen mit HIV, sondern alle die sich betroffen oder solidarisch fühlen wie LGBTI+, SexarbeiterInnen, MigrantInnen.
Wenn du AktivistIn bist, erwarten wir dich auf der Demo.
Zeige deine Solidarität.
Unterstützt die Demo gegen HIV-Stigmatisierung und lass uns zusammen NO STIGMA sagen!
Mehr erfahren
Drag Roy-lälle-ty
08.11.2019 um 21:00

Drag Roy-lälle-ty

Parterre One und Odette Hella Grand organisieren den nächsten jährlichen Drag Queen Contest – «Drag Roy-lälle-ty». Dieses Mal unterstützen sie NO STIGMA. Geladene Gäste führen lustige Sketche auf und Contest-TeilnehmerInnen können Fragen zu HIV beantworten.
Lasst uns zusammen gegen das HIV-Stigma lachen und damit zu einer „NO STIGMA Welt“ beitragen.
Alle sind eingeladen.
Bringt FreundInnen mit und setzt gemeinsam ein Zeichen gegen Diskriminierung!
Mehr erfahren
Milk Party Heaven
09.11.2019 von 23:00 bis 07:00

MILK - AFTERPARTY NO HIV STIGMA

Sie sind jung, wild und sexy. Diese Nacht gehört der Generation Z - unseren jüngsten Nachtschwärmern und Party-Padawane. Das Heaven öffnet seine Tore für alle die Ü16 sind und eine Nacht zusammen im Partyhimmel verbringen wollen. Der Heaven Klub ist stolz, die NO HIV STIGMA Initiative während der europäischen AIDS Konferenz in der Schweiz unterstützen zu dürfen.
Egal wie deine Diagnose lautet, es ist wichtig, das Leben in vollen Zügen zu leben.
Die MILK Party ist offen, tolerant und welcomes all bodies & genders.
Sei positiv! Denk positiv! Tanz positiv!
Mehr erfahren

Medien

Pressemitteilung
Lenzburg/CH,

Das Stigma überwinden – anlässlich des Europäischen Aids-Kongresses EACS startet Life4me+ die Initiative #NoHIVstigma mit zahlreichen Aktionen

PDF
Mehr erfahren